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West Virginia
DEAR DENTAL PROVIDER: CH@P
sHeaHh

Children'

IMPORTANT! e

Please assure your information is accurate on
www.InsureKidsNow.gov .

Since passage of the Children’s Health Insurance Program Reauthorization Act (CHIPRA) in 2009, all CHIP
and Medicaid programs are required to provide an electronic list of dental providers to post on a public
website, www. InsureKidsNow.gov . The listing helps CHIP members identify local dental providers who
are available to provide services.

The initial posting of an electronic list was on the InsureKidsNow.gov website in August 2009. In the past
our state maintained unpublicized lists so we could help refer members to a dentist who participates in CHIP
and/or Medicaid in their local area. An electronic list now allows the public to access this information and
dental practices can show if they are currently accepting new CHIP and/or Medicaid patients.

10 PROVIDE PRACTICE UPDATES:

Please review your listing on the InsureKidsNow.gov website. Copy and fill out the form in Appendix A of
this Manual if any information has changed, such as adding a new provider to your practice, change of
address, phone number, or if anyone left your practice or retired. Fill in all areas of the form, and fax to

WVCHIP office at (304) 558-2741.

ACCEPTING NEW PATIENTS?

Since many dental providers offer CHIP and/or Medicaid services to a limited number of CHIP/Medicaid
patients, please review the section that shows whether you currently accept new patients. We update this list
on a quarterly basis. These regularly scheduled updates will encourage more complete and accurate
listings of actively practicing dentists to assure the best possible access for children and families of our state.

For any questions regarding this notice, please contact Paula Atkinson at (304) 957-7868. Thanks for
helping children and families by providing up-to-date information on dental services in the quickest and most
convenient way!


http://www.insurekidsnow.gov/
http://www.insurekidsnow.gov/

Dental Services

The WVCHIP Benefit Plan covers a full range of health care services, including dental care. WVCHIP
member families receive a copy of the Summary Plan Description (SPD) each July and upon enrollment in
the program. The SPD provides information on benefits, requirements for coverage, and cost participation
required by the family. The dental benefit plan year begins on January 1% and ends on December 31%,
Benefit maximums and coverage of services is determined based on the Benefit Year. Also, some dental
services require prior authorization before the plan will cover them. Prior authorization requirements apply
to all enrollment groups.

Most dental services require no copays, but WVCHIP Premium members have $25.00 copays for most non-
preventive dental procedures with maximum copays of $100.00 per member per benefit year and a $150.00
maximum per family per benefit year. Families are informed that they have met their maximum copayment
amount on the Explanation of Benefits (EOB) form. Providers can also check on copay status by calling
Molina at 1-800-479-3310.

New Medical Oral Health Infant Program: Effective October 1, 2011, the West Virginia
Children’s Health Insurance Program (WVCHIP) began reimbursing primary care providers for the
application of fluoride varnish to children ages six (6) months to under 36 months (3 years) who are at high

risk of developing dental caries. To be eligible for payment of this service, providers must be certified

through training for fluoride varnish application offered by the West Virginia University School of
Dentistry. The medical professional must complete the program in two sequential phases. Phase 1 consists

of an on-line training, and Phase 2 consists of a live, face-to-face training led by an Oral Health Champion
(dentist and/or dental hygienist). The cost of Phase 1 is $40 and can be accessed by going to
http://dentistry.hsc.wvu.edu/Oral-Health/\WV InfantOH. Once Phase 1 is successfully completed, WVU
School of Dentistry will facilitate scheduling of Phase 2. Phase 2 will be conducted in the local area where
the primary care provider practices, preferably in their office or possibly at another local venue.

The application of the fluoride varnish should include communication with and counseling of the child’s
caregiver, including a referral to a dentist. WV CHIP allows coverage for two fluoride varnish applications
per year (one every six months). The first application must be provided and billed in conjunction with a
comprehensive well-child exam. If you know of a physician who is interested in providing this service,
please refer them to www.hsc.wvu.edu/sod/oral-health for more information regarding the required training.
please refer to the Medical Infant/Child Health Program Fluoride Varnish by Primary Care Practitioners
WVCHIP Coverage Policy found at our web site at www.chip.wv.gov.
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WVCHIP Benefit Plans

A member card is issued within 15 days of the child’s enrollment in WVCHIP or after any change in
coverage. This card is used for medical, dental and prescription drug coverage and is effective the full 12
months that a child is enrolled and covered by the WVCHIP unless coverage ends. Duplicate cards are issued
when a card is reported lost, stolen or damaged.

The benefit plan is marked on the insurance card. All children insured under WVCHIP participate in

some level of cost sharing (copayments and premiums) that is indicated by the benefit plan. Each card shows
the insured child’s name and identification number.

WVCHIP Gold Plan — No dental copayments; no deductibles

WVCHIP Blue Plan — No dental copayments; no deductibles

WVCHIP Premium — $25.00 copayments for some non- preventive dental procedures, with
maximum copayments of $100.00 per child per benefit year or $150.00 per family per

benefit year. Please refer to the Appendix D for procedures that require copayments.

WVCHIP EXEMPT — No dental copayments; no deductibles

NOTE: WVCHIP members that are registered under the federal exception for Native Americans or
Alaskan Natives have NO cost sharing, regardless of their benefit plan.



Diagnostic, Preventive and other Dental Services

that do NOT require prior authorization

The following dental procedures are covered by WVCHIP and require no prior authorization unless benefit
maximums are exceeded:

PREVENTIVE/DIAGNOSTIC: Covered 100% - no copayment
€ Dental examinations every six months
€ Cleaning every six months
€  Fluoride treatment every six months
= D1206 - Topical application of fluoride varnish
= D1208 - Topical application of fluoride — excluding varnish
€ Bitewings (see page 18 for limits)
€  Full mouth x-rays every 36 months (Panorex)
= |t is the member’s responsibility to provide x-rays for any consults ordered or for additional
services ordered from a new dental provider if the plan has already covered the maximum
amount during the benefit year
€ Sealants (One sealant per tooth per three years)
= A resinous material designed to be applied to the occlusal surfaces of posterior teeth to
prevent occlusal caries.
€ Treatment of abscesses, including initial office visit and follow-up
€ Other x-rays (covered in connection with another service)
€ Space Maintainers

RESTORATIVE: *
@ Fillings as needed

ENDODONTICS/ROOT CANALS/PERIODONTICS *
€ Pulpotomy
4 Root canal

SURGERY/EXTRACTIONS: *

Simple extractions

Extractions — impacted (covered under medical and requires PA if performed as outpatient procedure)
Extractions related to an abscess and root canal therapy

Removal of dental related cysts under a tooth or on a gum, including x-rays needed to diagnose the
condition

Frenulectomy (frenectomy or frenotomy)

Biopsy of oral tissue

LA X 2R X X X 2



Dental Services that do NOT require prior

authorization (cont.)

OTHER BASIC SERVICES: *
€ Analgesia
€ 1V/Conscious Sedation
€ Palliative Treatment
€ Other X-rays (covered in connection with another covered service)
4 Consultations

PROSTHODONTICS: *

@ Complete dentures (including routine post-delivery care)
@ Partial dentures (including routine post-delivery care)

€ Adjustments to dentures

@ Repairs to partial dentures

@ Denture rebase procedures

@ Denture reline procedures

RESTORATIVE SERVICES:* (Radiographs must be made available for post-payment review)
€ Dental crowns — 1 every five (5) years
€ Gingivectomy or gingivoplasty — 1 quadrant/per year
€ Osseous surgery — 1 per quadrant/per year
@ Peridontal scaling and root planning — 1 per quadrant/per year
€ Full mouth debridement — 1 every 6 months
€ Prosthodontics — covered for certain medically necessary conditions

* WVCHIP Premium Copays apply to these categories.

Dental Services Requiring Prior Authorization

The services listed below are covered when medically necessary and approved through the prior
authorization process. Please contact HealthSmart at 1-800-356-2392 prior to performing the service to
assure it will be covered. If the request for prior authorization is denied, WVCHIP will not cover the
cost of the procedure.

ACCIDENT RELATED DENTAL SERVICES: The Least Expensive Professional Acceptable
Alternative Treatment (LEPAAT) for accident-related dental services is covered when provided within six
(6) months of an accident and required to restore damaged tooth structures. The initial treatment must begin
within 72 hours of the accident. Biting and chewing accidents are not covered. Services provided more than
six (6) months after the accident are not covered. Note: For children under the age of 16, the six-month
limitation may be extended if a treatment plan is provided within the initial six months and approved by
HealthSmart.



EMERGENCY DENTAL SERVICES: Medically necessary adjunctive services that directly support the
delivery of dental procedures, which, in the judgment of the dentist, are necessary for the provision of
optimal quality therapeutic and preventive oral care to patients with medical, physical or behavioral
conditions. These services include but are not limited to sedation, general anesthesia, and utilization of
outpatient or inpatient surgical facilities. Contact HealthSmart for more information.

ORTHODONTIC SERVICES: * Orthodontic services are covered if medically necessary for WVCHIP
members with malocclusion that create disabilities and/or impair their physical development. Coverage is not
automatic and service must be prior authorized by WVCHIP. Please mail prior authorization requests to
WVCHIP, 2 Hale Street, Suite 101, Charleston, WV 25301, prior to performing the service. Orthodontic
coverage is limited to services medically necessary to correct dento-facial anomalies. The following
conditions will be considered for coverage with supporting documentation:
=  Member with syndromes or craniofacial anomalies such as cleft palate, Alperst Syndrome
or craniofacial dysplasia
= Severe malocclusion associated with dento-facial deformity (e.g. a patient with a full tooth
Class Il malocclusion with a demonstrable impinging overbite into the palate)

A standard American Board of Orthodontics (ABO) series of photographs, including 3 extra-oral and 5
intro-oral views (see examples on Page 9) must be submitted with all requests for prior authorization.
Requests for prior authorization submitted with photographs that are not of diagnostic quality will be
returned without review. Failure to submit any of the following documentation will result in a denial of the
request for orthodontic services:
= Panoramic Film
= Cephalometric Tracing
= Cephalometric X-ray
= Photographs — A standard series of 5 Intra and 3 Extra Oral photographs that meets the
American Board of Orthodontics standards
= Treatment Plan, including findings, diagnosis, prognosis, length of treatment, and phases
of treatment

Prior authorization requests that are denied by initial review may be appealed. Upper and lower study casts
trimmed to the correct occlusion may be requested for a second level review. Failure to trim study casts to
correct occlusion will delay decision.

Note: Retrospective review is available for WWCHIP members in instances where it is in the dental practitioner’s
opinion that a procedure that requires prior authorization is medically necessary and per recommended dental
practices, and that delaying the procedure may subject the member to unnecessary or duplicative service, or will
negatively impact the member’s condition. In these instances, a request for prior authorization MUST be made by
the provider within 10 business days of the date the service is performed. If the procedure does NOT meet medical
necessity criteria upon review by HealthSmart then the prior authorization request will be DENIED and WVCHIP
will not reimburse the provider for the service. Prior authorization DOES NOT assure eligibility or payment of
benefits under this Plan.



Examples of AAO Photographs (extra- oral and
intro-oral)

DR. ORTHODONTIST, D.D.S.
123 MAIN STREET
ANYTOWN, WV 12345
(8BB) BBB-1212

PATIENT: JANE DOE
DATE: JANUARY 1,2011
REcoORDS: FINAL

*Prior authorization from WVCHIP assures that the claim will be paid when submitted EXCEPT when a
child has disenrolled from the plan on or before the date of service. If the request for prior authorization
is denied, families will be responsible for paying for the procedure if the child has it.

Note: Comprehensive orthodontic treatment is pavable only once in the member’s lifetime.




Dental Services Not Covered |
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Treatment of temporomandibular joint (TMJ) disorders

Intraoral prosthetic devices or any other method of treatment to alter vertical dimension or for TMJ
not caused by disease or physical trauma

Antibiotic Injections

Tests/Lab Exams

Onlays/Inlays

Orthodontic services for cosmetic purposes

Gold Restorations

Precision Attachments

Replacements of crowns (covered once every 5 years)

Any services that are considered strictly cosmetic in nature including, but not limited to, charges for
personalization or characterization of prosthetic appliances

Charges for copies of member records, charts or x-rays, or any costs associated with
forwarding/mailing copies of members records, charts or x-rays

Fees submitted by a dentist which is for the same services performed on the same date for the same
member by another dentist

Duplicate, provisional and temporary devices, appliances and services

Treatment or services for injuries resulting from the maintenance or use of a motor vehicle if such
treatment or service is paid or payable under a plan or policy of motor vehicle insurance, including a
certified self-insurance plan

Adjustment of a denture or bridgework which is made within 6 months after installation by the same
dentist who installed it

Use of material or home health aids to prevent decay, such as toothpaste, fluoride gels, dental floss
and teeth whiteners

Fabrication of athletic mouth guard

Dental implants and related services

Experimental/investigational or services for research purposes

Removal of primary teeth whose exfoliation is imminent

Anesthesia services when solely for the convenience of the member, the member’s caretaker or the
provider of the service

Splinting

Out of state providers unless prior authorization is obtained

Services and treatment not prescribed by or under the direct supervision of a dentist, except in those
states where dental hygienists are permitted to practice without supervision by a dentist. In these
states, we will pay for eligible covered services provided by an authorized dental hygienist
performing within the scope of his or her license and applicable state law

Telephone consultations

Any charges/services that are covered in whole or in part by another plan

Any other procedure not listed as covered

10



Timely Claims Filing |

Dental claims must be filed within six months of the date of service. Claims not submitted within this
period will not be paid, and WVCHIP will not be responsible for payment.

Members are responsible for presenting the appropriate member card indicating coverage at the time of
service. Members are responsible for payment for service if they neglect to provide the appropriate member
card for coverage that causes the provider to miss the timely claims filing limitations.

Claims Filing Instructions

Instructions to the Dentist:

1. If treatment plan includes crowns or bridgework, radiographs must be made available for post-payment
review.

Submit all claim forms and invoices to the address below.
Molina
P.O. Box 3732

Charleston, WV 25337
Toll Free: 1-800-479-3310

Appealing Health Services |

APPEAL PROCESS

Each WVCHIP member and provider is assured a right to have a review of health services matters
under this Plan. Health services matters may include (but are not limited to) such issues as correct or timely
claims payment; a delay, reduction, a denial of a service, including pre-service decisions; and suspension or
termination of a service, including the type and level of service. This same process can apply to prescription
drugs or supplies available through the Plan.

11



Appealing Health Services (Cont.)

Exception from Review: WVCHIP does not provide a right to review any matter whose only
satisfactory remedy or decision would require automatic changes to the program’s State Plan, or in Federal
or State law governing eligibility, enrollment, the design of the covered benefits package that affects all
applicants or enrollees or groups of applicants or enrollees, without respect to their individual circumstances.

WVCHIP assures the right of appeal in three steps or levels, except for emergencies, as described
below.

1% level: The member, provider or representative must start the process within 60 days of learning of the
denial of payment for service.

To start the appeal process, contact Molina to explain the issue. This allows Molina to review the
issue and present information concerning actions that have been taken (such as a benefit limit, timely filing
issue, etc.). In most cases, Molina will give the needed information on the date of this phone contact. Molina
will give a response no later than 7 days after the initial phone contact with them.

2" level: If the information the member or provider receives after taking the first step does not resolve the
issue, the member or provider must take it to this next step within 30 days after the 1% level response.

The member or provider must write a letter explaining the problem and why there is continued
disagreement with the information or response at the 1% level. All information pertinent to the appeal must
be included with the request:

1. a written statement explaining the issue

2. all copies of supporting documents or statements that have been provided about the issue

3. a copy of the denied claim (the Explanation of Benefits) and/or written statement provided to

either the member or provider by Molina

4. appeal letters in Level 2 should be mailed to:

Molina
P.O. Box 3732
Charleston, WV 25337
Toll Free: 1-800-479-3310

Incorrect Payment,
Dental Timely Filing,

A written response will be issued within 30 days. For payment issues the claim will be reprocessed
for payment if that is the proper resolution. For all other issues, a letter explaining the actions they are
prepared to take, or the reasons for their action with respect to benefits (an Explanation of Benefits).

12



Appealing Health Services (Cont.)

3" level: After receiving the written response, the member or provider may appeal this decision to a third
step review by requesting that the Executive Director review the Level 2 case file. Copies of all written
statements of facts, issues, letters and relevant information provided in the case file must be mailed to:

WVCHIP
Executive Director
2 Hale Street, Suite 101
Charleston, West Virginia 25301

Within 30 days, the Director will send a written decision which takes into account all written
materials provided by both parties at Level 3. The decision will explain whether the actions taken at Level 2
will be upheld or changed. If the issue of appeal is about clinical or medical matters, the Executive Director
may consider a review by the consulting Medical Director.

Total Time Limit for the Appeal Process

Many appeals are decided within thirty (30) days; however, any appeal must be completed within
ninety (90) days from the date of the initial phone contact to the issuance of a written decision at Step 3.

IMPORTANT NOTE: Emergency Medical Condition Process

In cases when the standard time frame could jeopardize the health or life of a member, an
expedited review process may take place within 72 hours (or up to a maximum of 14 days, if the member
requests an extension). After starting Level 1, and making a written notice by facsimile copy of a request for
an emergency review, you may go directly to Level 3 for resolution.

13



APPENDIX A
Dental Provider Information

Name of Practice:

Phone Num: Fax Num: Email:

Central Appointment Line: (if applicable)

Physical Street Address:
City: State: ZIP:
Website Address:

Practice located in/or associated with a hospital, school, or community health center: yes no

If yes: Name of facility:

List Providers in Practice

Last Name , First Name , MI

Phone # (if different from practice)

Address (if different from practice)
NPI #
Languages Spoken (Other than English):

Provider Affiliation:

Private Practice Active Status: Yes
Community Health Center No
Health Department

Other

Provider Specialty: General Dentist
Pediatric Dentist
Oral Surgeon
Orthodontist
Endodontist
Periodontist
Number of Dental Hygienists?

Accepts new patients: (Y/N)

Can provide sedation: (Y/N)

Can accommodate special needs:_ (Y/N)

Can provide services for children with mobility limitations: (Y/N)

Can provide services for children who may have difficulty communicating or cooperating: Y/N)

Please fax back to WVCHIP at 304-558-2741 or email to Paula.M.Atkinson@wyv.gov. Thank you.

14
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Appendix B

West Virginia Children’s Health Insurance Program
Request for Precertification for Comprehensive
Orthodontic Treatment

Patient Name: DOB:

[.D. Number: Exam Date:
Provider Name: Provider Phone:
Provider Fax: NPI #

Provider Address:

City: State: ZIP:

Complete Diagnosis:

Current Treatment Status:

Recommendation for Orthodontic Treatment:

Orthodontic Treatment — Procedure Code

Post-Treatment Stabilization — Procedure Code

Total Fee (Usual and Customary Fee)

Precertification from WVCHIP assures claims will be paid when submitted EXCEPT
when the child dis-enrolls from the plan on or beforethe date of service.* If the
precertification request is denied, the parent or guardianis responsible for paying for
procedures completed without a precertification approval.

calling the WVCHIP Helplme at 1-877-982-2447.

15



Precertification for Orthodontic Treatment
Page 2

Information Required for Assessing Handicapping Malocclusion

1. Overjet 2. Overbite

Molar Relationship R L

Skeletal Relationship I II II

Missing Teeth

Impacted Teeth

Crowding

Cleft Palate Yes No

e N O U AW

Cross Bite

A - Anterior Teeth
B - Posterior Teeth L
C — Posterior Teeth R

10. Open Bite
A - Anterior Teeth
B - Posterior Teeth L
C — Posterior Teeth R

11. Comments:

Send precertification request form and documentation (panoramic Film; cephalometric tracing;
cephalometric x-ray; photographs — a standard series of 5 Intra and 3 Extra Oral photographs that meets
the American Board of Orthodontics standards, and treatment plan, including findings, diagnosis, prognosis,
length of treatment, and phases of treatment) to:

WVCHIP
2 Hale Street, Suite 101
Charleston, WV 25301

Provider’s Signature Date

16



ADA DentalClaim Form (2012 ©American Dental Association) Completion

Instructions

Dent:aiAssodoUon' Dental ClaimForm

1

" ] 3 I . 0|W”

ARIIJ\




Appendix D — Dental Procedure Codes

PRECERTIFICATION MUST BE OBTAINED WHEN SERVICE LIMITS ARE EXCEEDED

cDT DESCRIPTION SERVICE LIMITS SPECIAL INSTRUCTIONS CO-PAY
CODE
DIAGNOSTIC
CLINICAL ORAL EVALUATION
D0120 Periodic oral examination 1 per 6 months Not billable with D0140, D0145, D0150 or D9310
D0140 Limited oral evaluation — problem focused Emergency Not billable with D0120, D0145, D0150 or D9310
D0145 Oral evaluation for patient under three years of 1 per 6 months Age restriction up to 36 months. Not billable with D0120, D0140, D0O150 or D9310
age and counseling with primary care giver
D0150 Comprehensive oral evaluation — new or 1 per year Not billable with D0120, D0140, D0145 or D9310
established patient
RADIOGRAPH/DIAGNOSTIC IMAGING (INCLUDIN INTERPRETATION
D0210 Intraoral complete series of radiographicimages 1 per 2 years Not billable with D0220, D0230, D0240, D0250, D0260, D0270, D0272, D0273 or
D0274
D0220 Intraoral periapical — first radiographic image 1 per day Not billable with D0210 or D0240
D0230 Intraoral periapical each additional radiographic 8 per 3 months Not billable with D0210, D0240. Must be billed with D0220
image
D0240 Intraoral occlusal radiographicimage 1 per 6 months Not billable with D0210, D0220, or D0230
D0250 Extraoral — 2D projection radiographic image 1 per 3 years
created using a stationary radiation source, and
detector
D0270 Bitewings — single radiographic image 4 per year Not billable with D0210, D0272, D0273 or D0274
D0272 Bitewings — two radiographic images 1 per year Not billable with D0210, D0273 or D0274
D0273 Bitewings — three radiographic images 1 per year Not billable with D0210, D0272 or D0274
D0274 Bitewings — four radiographic images 1 per year Not billable with D0210, D0272, or D0273
D0290 Posterior/anterior or lateral skull and facial bone | 2 peryear
survey radiographicimage
D0310 Sialography
D0330 Panoramic radiographicimage 1 per 3 years
D0340 2 D cephalometric radiographic image- 1 per year
acquisition, measurement and analysis
D0350 Oral/facial photographicimage This code excludes conventional radiographic — For orthodontics
TESTS AND EXAMINATIONS
D0470 Diagnostic casts 2 per year

18




cDT DESCRIPTION SERVICE LIMITS SPECIAL INSTRUCTIONS CO-PAY
CODE
D0474 Accession of tissue, gross and microscopic
examination, including assessment of surgical
margins for presence of disease, preparation and
transmission of written report
ORAL PATHOLOGY LABORATORY
GENERALLY PERFORMED IN A PATHOLOGY LABORATORY AND DOES NOT INCLUDE THE REMOVAL OF THE TISSUE SAMPLE FROM THE PATIENT
D0486 Accession of transepithelial cytologic sample, Analysis and written report of findings, of cytological sample of disaggregated
microscopic examination, preparation and transepithelial cells
transmission of written report
PREVENTIVE
DENTAL PROPHYLAXIS
D1110 Prophylaxis — adult 1 per 6 mo. 13 — 19 years of age; not reimbursable with D1120
D1120 Prophylaxis — child 1 per 6 mo. Up to 13 years of age; not reimbursable with D1110
TOPICAL FLUORIDE TREATMENT (OFFICE PROCEDURE)
D1206 Topical application of fluoride varnish 2 per year
D1208 Topical application of fluoride 2 per year Replaces Codes D1203 and D1204; effective 1/1/2013
OTHER PREVENTIVE SERVICES
D1351 Sealant — per tooth (posterior teeth) 1 sealant per Tooth numbers 1-32 or A-T must be documented on the claim form for payment
tooth per 3 years | consideration. Requires dental areas configuration.
D1353 Sealant repair per tooth 1 sealant repair PA Required. Tooth numbers 1-32 or A-t must be documented on claim form for
per tooth per 3 payment consideration. Requires dental areas configuration.
years
SPACE MAINTENANCE (PASSIVE APPLIANCES)
D1510 Space maintainer — fixed unilateral 4 per year Per quadrant — 10=UR, 20=UL, 30=LL, 40=UR must be included on claim form for
payment consideration. Must be billed with the number codes
D1515 Space maintainer — fixed bilateral 2 per year Upper arch=01 or lower arch=02 must be included on claim form for payment
consideration. Must be billed with the number codes.
D1520 Space maintainer — removable — unilateral 4 per year See D1510
D1525 Space maintainer — removable — bilateral 2 per year See D1515
D1550 Re-cementation of space maintainer 1 per year

19




cDT DESCRIPTION SERVICE LIMITS SPECIAL INSTRUCTIONS
CODES CO-PAY
RESTORATIVE
AMALGAM RESTORATIONS (INCLUDING POLISHING)
D2140 Amalgam — one surface, primary or permanent 5 surfaces per Tooth numbers 1-32, A-T must be included on the claim form for payment $25
tooth # per 3 consideration. Tooth preparation, all adhesives (including amalgam bonding agents)
years liners, bases & local anesthesia are included in the fee and may not be billed
separately. Radiographs with documentation must be documented in the medical
record for date of service.
D2150 Amalgam — two surfaces, primary or permanent 5 surfaces per Tooth numbers 1-32, A-T must be included on the claim form for payment $25
tooth # per 3 consideration. Tooth preparation, all adhesives (including amalgam bonding agents)
years liners, bases & local anesthesia are included in the fee and may not be billed
separatelyRadiographs with documentation must be documented in the medical
record for date of service.
D2160 Amalgam —three surfaces, primary or permanent | 5 surfaces per Tooth numbers 1-32, A-T must be included on the claim form for payment $25
tooth # per 3 consideration. Tooth preparation, all adhesives (including amalgam bonding agents)
years liners, bases & local anesthesia are included in the fee and may not be billed
separately. Radiographs with documentation must be documented in the medical
record for date of service.
D2161 Amalgam — four or more surfaces, primary or 5 surfaces per Tooth numbers 1-32, A-T must be included on the claim form for payment $25
permanent tooth # per 3 consideration. Tooth preparation, all adhesives (including amalgam bonding agents)
years liners, bases & local anesthesia are included in the fee and may not be billed
separately. Radiographs with documentation must be documented in the medical
record for date of service. Not billable with D2140, D2150, D2160 on same tooth
number
RESIN-BASED COMPOSITE RESTORATIONS — DIRECT
D2330 Resin — based composite — one surface, anterior 5 surfaces per Tooth numbers 6-11, 22-27, C-H, M-R must be included on the claim form for payment | $25

tooth # per 3
years

consideration. Fees include bonded composite, light-cured composite, etc., tooth
preparation, acid etching, adhesives (included resin bonding agents), liners, bases,
curing, glass ionomers and local anesthesia and may not be separately billed.
Radiographs with documentation must be documented in the medical record for date
of service (DOS).
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D2331 Resin — based composite — two surfaces, anterior | 5 surfaces per Tooth numbers 6-11, 22-27, C-H, M-R must be included on the claim form for $25
tooth # per 3 payment consideration. Fees include bonded composite, light-cured composite, etc.,
years tooth preparation, acid etching, adhesives (included resin bonding agents), liners,
bases, curing, glass ionomers and local anesthesia and may not be separately billed.
Radiographs with documentation must be documented in the medical record for
DOS.
D2332 Resin — based composite — three surfaces, 5 surfaces per Tooth numbers 6-11, 22-27, C-H, M-R must be included on the claim form for $25
anterior tooth # per 3 payment consideration. Fees include bonded composite, light-cured composite, etc.,
years tooth preparation, acid etching, adhesives (included resin bonding agents), liners,
bases, curing, glass ionomers and local anesthesia and may not be separately billed.
Radiographs with documentation must be documented in the medical record for
DOS.
D2335 Resin — based composite — four or more surfaces | 5 surfaces per Tooth numbers 6-11, 22-27, C-H, M-R must be included on the claim form for $25
or involving incisal angle (anterior) tooth # per 3 payment consideration. Fees include bonded composite, light-cured composite, etc.,
years tooth preparation, acid etching, adhesives (included resin bonding agents), liners,
bases, curing, glass ionomers and local anesthesia and may not be separately billed.
Radiographs with documentation must be documented in the medical record for
DOS.
D2390 Resin — based composite crown, anterior 1 tooth # per 3 Tooth numbers 6-11, 22-27, C-H, M-R must be included on the claim form for $25
years payment consideration. Fees include bonded composite, light-cured composite, etc.,
tooth preparation, acid etching, adhesives (included resin bonding agents), liners,
bases, curing, glass ionomers and local anesthesia and may not be separately billed.
Radiographs with documentation must be documented in the medical record for DOS
D2391 Resin — based composite — one surface, posterior | 5 surfaces per Tooth numbers 1-5, 12-21, A, B, I, J, K, L, S, T must be included on the claim form for $25
tooth # per 3 payment consideration. Fees include bonded composite, light-cured composite, etc.,
years tooth preparation, acid etching, adhesives (included resin bonding agents), liners,
bases, curing, glass ionomers and local anesthesia and may not be separately billed.
Radiographs with documentation must be documented in the medical record for
DOS.
D2392 Resin — based composite — two surfaces, 5 surfaces per Tooth numbers 1-5, 12-21, A, B, I, J, K, L, S, T must be included on the claim form for $25

posterior

tooth # per 3
years

payment consideration. Fees include bonded composite, light-cured composite, etc.,
tooth preparation, acid etching, adhesives (included resin bonding agents), liners,
bases, curing, glass ionomers and local anesthesia and may not be separately billed.
Radiographs with documentation must be documented in the medical record for
DOS.
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D2393 Resin — based composite — three surfaces, 5 surfaces per Tooth numbers 1-5, 12-21, A, B, 1, J, K, L, S, T must be included on the claim form for $25
posterior tooth # per 3 payment consideration. Fees include bonded composite, light-cured composite, etc.,
years tooth preparation, acid etching, adhesives (included resin bonding agents), liners,
bases, curing, glass ionomers and local anesthesia and may not be separately billed.
Radiographs with documentation must be documented in the medical record for DOS
D2394 Resin — based composite — four or more surfaces | 5 surfaces per Tooth numbers 1-5,12-21, A, B, 1, J, K, L, S, T must be included on the claim form for $25
(poster) tooth # per 3 payment consideration. Fees include bonded composite, light-cured composite, etc.,
years tooth preparation, acid etching, adhesives (included resin bonding agents), liners,
bases, curing, glass ionomers and local anesthesia and may not be separately billed.
Radiographs with documentation must be documented in the medical record for
DOS.
CROWNS - SINGLE RESTORATIONS ONLY
D2751 Crown — porcelain fused to predominantly based 1 tooth number Tooth numbers 1-32and A, B, |, J, K, L, S & T must be documented in the medical $25
metal per 5 years record, and on the claim form for payment consideration. Radiographs with
documentation must be documented in the medical record for date of service.
D2791 Crown — full cast predominantly base metal 1 tooth #r per 5 Tooth numbers 1-32 and A, B, 1, J, K, L, S & T must be documented on the claim form $25
years for payment consideration. Radiographs with documentation must be documented
in the medical record for date of service.
OTHER RESTORATIVE SERVICES
D2920 Re-cement crown 1 per tooth # per | Tooth numbers 1-32, A-t must be included on the claim form for payment $25
1 year consideration. Radiographs with documentation must be documented in the medical
record for date of service.
D2930 Prefabricated stainless steel crown — primary 1 pertooth # per | Tooth number A-T primary teeth must be documented on the claim form for payment | $25
tooth 1 year consideration. Use only when a regular filling is not applicable. Radiographs with
documentation must be documented in the medical record for date of service (DOS)
D2931 Prefabricated stainless steel crown — permanent 1 per tooth # per Tooth number A-T primary teeth must be documented on the claim form for payment | $25
tooth 1 year consideration. Use only when a regular filling is not applicable. Radiographs with
documentation must be documented in the medical record for DOS
D2932 Prefabricated resin crown 1 per tooth# per 1 | Tooth number A-T primary teeth must be documented on the claim form for payment | $25
year consideration. Radiographs with documentation must be documented in the medical
record for DOS
D2933 Prefabricated stainless steel crown with resin Tooth number A-T primary teeth must be documented on the claim form for payment | $25
window consideration. Radiographs with documentation must be documented in the medical
record for DOS
D2940 Protective restoration 2 per year per Tooth numbers 1-32, A-T must be documented on claim form for payment $25

tooth #

consideration. Not allowed in conjunction with root canal therapy, pulpotomy,
pulpectomy or on the same DOS as a restoration.
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D2950 Core buildup, including any pins 1 per calendar Tooth numbers 1-31, A-T must be documented on claim form for payment $25
year per tooth # consideration
D2951 Pin retention — per tooth, in addition to 1 per 3 years per Tooth numbers 1-32, A-T must be documented on claim form for payment $25
restoration tooth # consideration.
D2952 Cast post and core in addition to crown 1 per 3 years per Tooth numbers 1-32, A-T must be documented on claim form for payment $25
tooth # consideration.
D2954 Prefab post and core in addition to crown 1 per 3 years per Tooth numbers 1-32, A-T must be documented on claim form for payment $25
tooth # consideration.
ENDODONTICS — INCLUDES LOCAL ANESTHESIA
PULPOTOMY
D3220 Therapeutic pulpotomy (excluding final 1 per 3 years per Tooth numbers 1-32, A-T must be documented on claim form for payment $25
restoration) — removal of pulp coronal to the tooth# consideration. Not reimbursable with D3310, D3320, or D3330. This is not to be
dentiocemental junction and application of construed as the first stage of root canal therapy. Not to be used for apexogenesis.
medicament
ENDODONTIC THERAPY (INCLUDING TREATMENT PLAN, CLINICAL PROCEDURES AND FOLLOW UP CARE)
D3310 Endodontic therapy, anterior (excluding final 1 tooth # per Tooth numbers 6-11, 22-27 must be documented on the claim form for payment $25
restoration) lifetime consideration. Not reimbursed with D3220, D3320 or D3330
D3320 Endodontic therapy bicuspid (excluding final 1 tooth # per Tooth numbers 4, 5,12, 13, 20, 21, 28, 29 or C, H, Q, N must be documented on the $25
restoration) claim form for payment consideration. Not reimbursed with D3220, D3310, or D330
D3330 Endodontic therapy, molar (excluding final 1 tooth # per Tooth numbers 1-3, 14-19, 30-32 and primary teeth #A, B, I, J, K, L, Sand T, if no $25
restoration) lifetime permanent successor present; must be documented on the claim form for payment
consideration. Not reimbursed with D3220, D3310 or D3320
ENDODONTIC RETREATMENT
D3346 Retreatment of previous root canal therapy — 1 tooth # per Tooth numbers 6-11 and 22-27 must be documented on the claim form for payment $25
anterior lifetime consideration, includes all diagnostic tests, radiographs, and post-operative
treatments and may not be billed separately
D3347 Retreatment of previous root canal therapy — 1 tooth # per Tooth numbers 4, 5, 12, 13, 20, 21, 28 and 29 must be documented on the claim form | $25
bicuspid lifetime for payment consideration, includes all diagnostic tests, radiographs, and post-
operative treatments and may not be billed separately
D3348 Retreatment of previous root canal therapy — 1 tooth # per Tooth numbers 1-3, 14-19, and 30-32 must be documented on the claim form for $25
molar lifetime payment consideration; includes all diagnostic tests, radiographs, and post-
Operative treatments and may not be billed separately
APEXIFICATION/RECALCIFICATION PROCEDURES
D3351 Apexification/recalcification/pulpal regeneration- Tooth numbers 1-32 must be documented on the claim form for payment $25

initial visit (apical closure/calcific repair of
perforations, root resorption, pulp space
disinfection, etc)

consideration. Fees include all diagnostic tests, evaluations, radiographs and post-
operative treatment and may not be billed separately
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D3352 Apexification/recalcification/pupal regeneration | 3 treatment per Tooth numbers 1-32 must be documented on the claim form for payment $25
— interim medication replacement tooth # per consideration. Feesinclude all diagnostic tests, evaluations, radiographs and post-
lifetime operative treatment and may not be billed separately
D3353 Apexification/recalcification — final visit (includes | 1 tooth # per Tooth numbers 1-32 must be documented on the claim form for payment $25
completed root canal therapy — apical lifetime consideration. Fees include all diagnostic tests, evaluations, radiographs and post-
closure/calcific repair of perforations, root operative treatment and may not be billed separately
resorption, etc.)
APICOCECTOMY/PERIRADICULAR SERVICES
D3410 Apicocectomy/perriardicular surgery-anterior 1 tooth # per Tooth numbers 6-11, 22-27 must be documented on the claim form for payment $25
lifetime consideration. Radiographs with documentation must be documented in the medical
record for date of service.
D3421 Apicoectomy/surg bicuspid (first root) 1 tooth # per Tooth numbers 4, 5,12, 13, 20, 21, 28, 29 must be documented on the claim form for $25
lifetime payment consideration. Radiographs with documentation must be documented in the
medical record for date of service.
PERIODONTICS
SURGICAL SERVICES (INCLUDING USUAL POST-OPERATIVE CARE)
D4210 Gingivectomy or gingivoplasty — four or more Each quadrant Identification of the quadrant(s) ; quadrants are defined as 10=UR, 20=UL, 30=LL, $25
contiguous teeth or bounded teeth spaces, per UR, UL, LL, LR, 40=LR. Not reimbursed with D4211. Must be billed with the number codes.
quadrant once per year Radiographs with documentation must be documented in the medical record for date
of service
D4211 Gingivectomy or gingivoplasty — one to three Each quadrant Identification of the quadrant; quadrants are defined as 10=UR, 20=UL, 30=LL, 40=LR. $25
teeth UR, UL, LL, LR, Not reimbursed with D4210. Must be billed with the number codes. Radiographs with
once per year documentation must be documented in the medical record for date of service
D4260 Osseous surgery (including flap entry and Each quadrant; Identification of the quadrant; quadrants are defined as 10=UR, 20=UL, 30=LL, 40=LR. $25
closure) four or more contiguous teeth or tooth UR, UL, LL, LR, Not reimbursed with D4210. Must be billed with the number codes. Radiographs with
bounded spaces per quadrant once per year documentation must be documented in the medical record for date of service
D4261 Osseous surgery (including flap entry and Each quadrant; Identification of the quadrant, and radiographs as appropriate. Quadrants are defined $25
closure) one to three continuous teeth or tooth UR, UL, LL, LR, as 10=UR, 20=UL, 30=LL, 40=LR. Not reimbursed with D4210. Must be billed with the
bounded spaces per quadrant once per year number codes. Radiographs with documentation must be documented in the medical
record for date of service
NON-SURGICAL PERIODONTAL SERVICE
D4341 Periodontal scaling /root planing — four /more Each quadrant; Quadrants are defined as 10=UR, 20=UL, 30=LL, 40=LR. Not reimbursed with D4342. $25

teeth per quadrant

UR, UL, LL, LR,
once per year

Must be billed with the number codes. Radiographs with documentation must be
documented in the medical record for date of service
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D4342 Periodontal scaling/root planning — one to three | Each quadrant; Quadrants are defined as 10=UR, 20=UL, 30=LL, 40=LR. Not reimbursed with D4341. $25

teeth per quadrant UR, UL, LL, LR Must be billed with the number codes. Radiographs with documentation must be

once per year documented in the medical record for date of service

D4355 Full mouth debridement to enable 1 per 6 months Requires PA. Only covered when there is substantial gingival inflammation (gingivitis in $25

comprehensive all 4 quadrants)

PROSTHODONTICS (REMOVABLE)
COMPLETE DENTURES (INCLUDING ROUTINE POST-DELIVERY CARE)
D5110 Complete denture — maxillary 1 per 5 years $25
D5120 Complete denture — mandibular 1 per 5years $25
D5130 Immediate denture — maxillary 1 per 5 years $25
D5140 Immediate denture — mandibular 1 per 5 years $25
PARTIAL DENTURES (INCLUDING ROUTINE POST-DELIVERY CARE)

D5213 Maxillary partial denture — cast metal base 1 per 5 years Partials and complete dentures may not be re-based or relined with a period of one (1) $25

framework with resin denture bases (including year after construction)

any conventional clasps, rests and teeth)
D5214 Mandibular partial denture — cast metal base 1 per 5 years Partials and complete dentures may not be re-based or relined with a period of one (1) $25

framework with resin denture bases (including year after construction)

any conventional clasps, rests and teeth)
D5281 Removable unilateral partial denture — one 1 per 5 years Partials and complete dentures may not be re-based or relined with a period of one (1) $25

piece cast metal (including clasps and teeth) year after construction)

ADJUSTMENTS TO DENTURES
D5410 Adjust complete denture upper 3 per year Adjustments not covered within 3 months of placement $25
D5411 Adjust complete denture lower 3 per year Adjustments not covered within 3 months of placement $25
D5421 Adjust partial denture upper 3 per year Adjustments not covered within 3 months of placement $25
D5422 Adjust partial denture lower 3 per year Adjustments not covered within 3 months of placement $25
REPAIRS TO COMPLETE DENTURES

D5510 Repair broken complete denture base 2 per year per Upper arch=01, Low arch=02; must be documented on the claim form for payment $25

arch

consideration
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D5520 Replace missing or broken teeth- complete 2 per year per Tooth numbers 1-32 must be documented on the claim form for payment consideration | $25
denture (each tooth) tooth #
REPAIRS TO PARTIAL DENTURES
D5610 Repair resin denture base 2 peryear per Upper arch=01, Low arch=02; must be documented on the claim form for payment $25
arch consideration. Must be billed with the number codes
D5620 Repair cast framework 2 per year per Upper arch=01, Low arch=02; must be documented on the claim form for payment $25
arch consideration. Must be billed with the number codes
D5630 Repair/replace broken clasp 2 per year $25
D5640 Replace broken tooth — per tooth 2 per year Tooth numbers 1-32 must be documented on the claim form for payment consideration | $25
D5650 Add tooth to existing partial 2 per year Tooth numbers 1-32 must be documented on the claim form for payment consideration | $25
D5660 Add clasp to partial $25
DENTURE REBASED PROCEDURES
D5710 Rebase complete maxillary denture 1 per 5 years $25
D5711 Rebase complete mandibular denture 1 per 5 years $25
D5720 Rebase maxillary partial denture 1 per 5 years $25
D5721 Rebase mandibular partial denture 1 per 5 years $25
DENTURE RELINE PROCEDURES
D5730 Reline complete maxillary denture 1 per 2 years Not covered within first 6 months of placement unless it is for an immediate denture $25
D5731 Reline complete mandibular denture (chair side) | 1 per 2 years Not covered within first 6 months of placement unless it is for an immediate denture $25
D5740 Reline maxillary partial denture (chair side) 1 per 2 years Not covered within first 6 months of placement $25
D5741 Reline mandibular partial denture (chair side) 1 per 2 years Not covered within first 6 months of placement $25
D5750 Reline complete maxillary denture (laboratory) 1 per 2 years Not covered within first 6 months of placement $25
D5751 Reline complete mandibular denture 1 per 2 years Not covered within first 6 months of placement $25

(laboratory)
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D5760 Reline maxillary partial denture (laboratory) 1 per 2 years Not covered within first 6 months of placement $25
D5761 Reline mandibular partial denture (laboratory) 1 per 2 years Not covered within first 6 months of placement $25
PROSTHODONTIC FIXED
FIXED PARTIAL DENTURE PONTICS — EACH ABUTMENT AND EACH PONTIC CONSTITUTE A UNIT IN A BRIDGE
D6211 Pontic — cast predominantly base metal 1 per 5 years Tooth numbers 1-32 must be documented on the claim form for payment consideration | $25
D6241 Pontic — Porcelain fused to predominantly based | 1 per5 years Tooth numbers 1-32 must be documented on the claim form for payment consideration | $25
metal
D6545 Retainer — cast metal for resin bonded fixed 1 per 5 years Tooth numbers 1-32 must be documented on the claim form for payment consideration | $25
prosthesis
OTHER FIXED DENTURE SERVICES
D6930 Recement fixed partial bridge 1 per year | $25
ORAL AND MAXILLOFACIAL SURGERY (COVERED UNDER THE MEDICAL PLAN)
EXTRACTION — INCLUDES LOCAL ANESTHESIA AND POST-OPERATIVE CARE
ANY NECESSARY SUTURE INCLUDED IN FEE FOR EXTRACTION
D7140 Extraction, erupted tooth or exposed root 1 per lifetime per | Tooth numbers 1-32 or A-T must be documented on the claim form for payment $25
(elevation and/or forceps removal) tooth # consideration
D7210 Surgical removal of erupted tooth requiring 1 per lifetime per | Tooth numbers 1-32 or A-T must be documented on the claim form for payment $25
elevation of mucoperiosteal flap and removal of tooth number consideration
bone and/or section of tooth
D7220 Removal of impacted tooth — soft tissue 1 per lifetime per | Tooth numbers 1-32 or A-T must be documented on the claim form for payment $25
tooth number consideration
D7230 Removal of impacted tooth — partially bony 1 per lifetime per | Tooth numbers 1-32 or A-T must be documented on the claim form for payment $25
tooth number consideration
D7240 Removal of impacted tooth — completely bony 1 per lifetime per | Tooth numbers 1-32 or A-T must be documented on the claim form for payment $25
tooth number consideration
OTHER SURGICAL PROCEDURES
D7260 Oroantral fistula closure $25
D7270 Tooth reimplantation and/or stabilization of Tooth numbers 1-32 and primary teeth #A, B, |, J, K, L, S, and T must also be $25
accidental avulsed or displaced tooth documented on the claim form for payment consideration
D7280 Surgical access of unerupted tooth Tooth numbers 1-32 must also be documented on the claim form for payment $25
consideration
D7283 Placement of device to facilitate eruption of Tooth numbers 1-32 must also be documented on the claim form for payment $25

impacted tooth

consideration
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D7285 Biopsy of oral tissue — hard (bone, tooth) $25
D7286 Biopsy of oral tissue — soft (all others $25
ALVELOPLASTY — SURGICAL PREPARATION OF RIDGE FOR DENTURE
D7310 Alveoplasty in conjunction with extractions — four 1 quadrant UR, Quadrant 10=UR, 20=UL, 30=LL, 40=LR must also be documented on the claim form for | $25
or more teeth or tooth spaces per quadrant UL, LL, LR per payment consideration. Alveoloplasty is distinct (separate procedure) from
lifetime extractions. Usually in preparation for a prosthesis or other treatments such as
radiation therapy and transplant surgery
D7320 Alveoplasty notin conjunction with extractions — 1 quadrant UR, Quadrant 10=UR, 20=UL, 30=LL, 40=LR must also be documented on the claim form for | $25
four or more teeth or tooth spaces per quadrant UL, LL, LR per payment consideration
lifetime
VESTIBULOPLASTY
D7340 Vestibuloplasty — ridge extension (second Requires PA with documentation and radiographs as appropriate $25
epithelization)
D7350 Vestibuloplasty — ridge extension (including soft Requires PA with documentation and radiographs as appropriate $25
tissue grafts, muscle reattachments, revision of
soft tissue attachment and management of
hypertrophied & hyperplastic tissue)
D7410 Excision of benign lesion up to 1.25 cm $25
D7411 Excision of benign lesion > 1.25 cm $25
D7440 Excision of malignant tumor — lesion diameter up $25
to 1.25cm
D7441 Excision of malignant tumor — lesion diameter > $25
than 1.25cm
D7450 Removal of benign odontogenic cyst or tumor — $25
lesion diameter up to 1.25 cm
D7451 Removal benign odontogenic cyst or tumor lesion $25
>1.25cm
D7460 Removal of benign nonodontogenic cyst or tumor $25
lesion diameter up to 1.25 cm
D7461 Removal of benign nonodontogenic cyst or tumor S25

lesion diameter greater > 1.25
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EXCISION OF BONE TISSUE
D7471 Removal of lateral exostosis (maxilla or mandible) UA=01, LA=02 must be documented on the claim form for payment consideration. $25
Must be billed with the number codes
D7472 Removal of torus palatines $25
D7473 Removal of torus mandibularis $25
D7485 Surgical reduction of osseous tuberosity $25
D7490 Radical resection of mandible with bone graft Requires PA with documentation and radiographs as appropriate $25
SURGICAL INCISION
D7510 Incision of Drainage (I&D) of abscess — intraoral $25
soft tissue
D7520 1&D of abscess — extraoral soft tissue $25
D7530 Removal of foreign body from mucosa, skin, or $25
subcutaneous alveolar tissue
D7550 Partial ostectomy - sequestrectomy for removal of Requires PA with documentation. This code should only be used if a more specific $25
non-vital bone code is not available
D7560 Maxillary sinusotomy for removal of tooth $25
fragment of foreign body
TREATMENT OF SIMPLE FRACTURES
D7610 Maxilla — open reduction $25
D7620 Maxilla — closed reduction $25
D7630 Mandible — open reduction $25
D7640 Mandible — closed reduction $25
D7671 Alvelous — open reduction $25
D7680 Facial bones — complicated reduction with fixation Requires PA with documentation and radiographs as appropriate $25

and multiple surgical approaches
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TREATMENT OF FRACTURES (COMPOUND)
D7710 Maxilla — open reduction $25
D7720 Maxilla — closed reduction $25
D7730 Mandible — open reduction $25
D7740 Mandible — closed reduction $25
D7750 Malar and/or zygomatic arch — open reduction $25
D7770 Alveolus — open reduction stabilization of teeth $25
D7780 Facial bones — complicated reduction with fixation Requires PA $25
and multiple surgical approaches
D7910 Suture of recent small wounds up to 5 cm Excludes closure of surgical incisions $25
D7911 Complicated suture —up to 5 cm lunit; not Excludes closure of surgical incisions $25
reimbursable
with D7912
D7912 Complicated suture — greater than 5 cm 1 unit; not Excludes closure of surgical incisions $25
reimbursable
with D7911
D7920 Skin graft Requires PA $25
D7941 Osteotomy mandibular rami Requires PA $25
D7943 Osteotomy — mandibular rami with bone graft; Requires PA $25
includes obtaining the graft
D7944 Osteotomy — segmented or subapical — per sextant Requires PA $25
or quadrant
D7946 LeFort | (maxilla-total) Requires PA $25
D7947 LeFort | (maxilla — segmented) Requires PA $25
D7948 LeFort Il or LeFort Il (osteoplasty of facial bones Requires PA $25

for mid-face hypoplasia or retrusion) — without
bone graft
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D7949 LeFort Il or LeFort Ill — with bone graft Requires PA $25

D7950 Osseous, osteoperiosteal or cartilage graft of the Requires PA $25
mandible or facial tones

D7955 Repair of maxillofacial soft and/or hard tissue Requires PA $25
defect

D7960 Frenuloplasty Requires PA $25

D7970 Excision of hyperplastic tissue — per arch Requires PA. UALA must be documented on the claim form for payment $25

consideration. Must be billed with the number codes.

D7980 Sialolithotomy Requires PA $25

D7981 Excision of Salivary gland Requires PA $25

D7982 Sialodochoplasty Requires PA $25

D7991 Coronoidectomy Requires PA $25

ORTHODONTICS

D8010 Limited orthodontic treatment of the primary 2 per year Requires PA with documentation, radiographs $25
dentition

D8020 Limited orthodontic treatment of the transitional 2 per year Requires PA with documentation, radiographs $25
dentition

D8030 Limited orthodontic treatment of the adolescent 2 per year Requires PA with documentation, radiographs $25
dentition

D8040 Limited orthodontic treatment of the adult 2 per year Requires PA with documentation, radiographs $25
dentition

D8050 Interceptive orthodontic treatment of the primary | 2 per year Requires PA with documentation, radiographs $25
dentition

D8060 Interceptive orthodontic treatment of the 2 per year Requires PA with documentation, radiographs $25
transitional dentition

D8070 Comprehensive orthodontic treatment of the 1 per lifetime Requires PA with documentation, radiographs $25
transitional dentition

D8080 Comprehensive orthodontic treatment of the 1 per lifetime Requires PA with documentation, radiographs $25
adolescent dentition

D8090 Comprehensive orthodontic treatment of the adult | 1 per lifetime Requires PA with documentation, radiographs $25

dentition
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D8210 Removable Appliance therapy 2 per lifetime $25
D8220 Fixed appliance therapy 2 per year $25
D8680 Orthodontic retention (removal of appliances Requires PA with documentation, radiographs $25
construction and placement of retainer
D8692 Replacement of lost or broken retainer 2 per Lifetime $25
D8693 Rebonding or recementing; and/or repair, as 1 per lifetime Requires PA $25
required of fixed retainers
PALLATIVE TREATMENT
D9110 Palliative (emergency) treatment of dental pain — $25
minor procedure
ANESTHESIA
D9223 Deep sedation/general anesthesia — each 15 Class 4 anesthesia permit required. Replaces codes D9220 and D9221. $25
minute increment
D9230 Analgesia, anxiolysis, inhalation of nitrous oxide Maximum 1 $25
unit/day
D9243 Intravenous moderate conscious Replaces codes D9241 and D9242. $25
sedation/analgesia— each 15 minute increment
OTHER SERVICES
D9310 Consultation (diagnostic service provided by Not reimbursable on same day as D1020, D1040, D1045, D1050 $25
dentist or physician other than practitioner
providing treatment)
D9420 Hospital or ambulatory surgical center call $25

*Prior authorization must be obtained when service limits are exceeded

Revised: May 3, 2016
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WVCHIP
2 Hale Street

| P Charleston, WV 25301
Children's Heatth ™ ‘ "

Insurance

Healthy Teeth are Important!

Teeth help you eat, talk, and smile.

Dental Care should begin early, even before the first tooth
appears. It is important to develop good oral hygiene
habits early in order to help make your child’s teeth last a
lifetime.

To find a WVCHIP dental provider near you go to the web site insurekidsnow.gov
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